What Was It All About – 2016 Review

Michelle W. from the Daily Post challenges us to do a creative review of our best posts for 2016: “Can you pull all the strands of your 2016 together before diving into the new year?”
My Beauty Along the Road review blends phrases from my most popular 2016 posts with others that hold special meaning for me to create a (sort of) poem. You can click on the blue text in parenthesis to read the original post.

Elemental forces…transform the geography of place…and the geography of soul. (Transmogrification – Iceland)

An immense banner of yellow draped across the green grassland (Gentle Curves)

The land remains sodden, sighing heavily. (A Cloudy State of Mind)

Phew! It got to live… (Spare Me…)

In the next moment, he was gone (Hummer Rescue)

It took a while for my brain to wrestle with this puzzling image (A Rare Find)

Tiny smiles, frowns, sighs, and little shrieks all tell about an untold inner dream life. (Little Ones Bring the Greatest Pleasures)

For a few moments, calm returns. But everyone knows, it’s only the quiet before the next storm. (Iceland Magic: Geysers)

We can still sway and bend with the wind…the inner strength to brace the force of the windstorms life sends our way. (Tree Magic (2): Ivan Was Here)

Yes, stepping into the light of our creative fire makes us vulnerable. Showing our true colors can be scary and exhilarating all at once. The alternative is hiding in the safety of the night’s shadows. (Moths, Big Magic, and Our True Colors)

Can we embrace the new shapes and directions of our life? What beauty, contentment, wisdom, and harmony lies here, now? (Harmonious Aging)

The deep underground work must happen in the dark. (This Time of Year)

As always, Nature provided intriguing sights and meaningful metaphors. I was inspired by artistic creations (including the birth of my twin grandchildren), mesmerizing landscapes near and far, rare discoveries, tracking emotions so many of us experienced this year together, and finding the inner and outer resources to make it through. May we find the strength, equanimity, and the support of like-minded others to unleash our fierce creative spirit into the new year.

women-on-bikes-by-the-ocean

Will you let me know what your favorite Beauty Along the Road post was – and why?

Happy New Year.

About Beauty Along the Road

A blog about discovering beauty in all its ordinary and extraordinary manifestations.
This entry was posted in Artistic Inspiration, Daily Post Writing Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to What Was It All About – 2016 Review

  1. Annette, wow! That took some time to compile. Excellent. I look forward to all of your posts and so it is difficult to decide which is my favorite. But, I think it is the post Transmogrification- Iceland. Why? Because I am fascinated with transformations and geography and I have always wanted to visit Iceland.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. cindy knoke says:

    I love them all but Iceland particularly and we will hopefully be going in 2017!

    Like

  3. Hi Annette. I love this post and the idea to mash-up, blend and integrate all our posts for the year. Sadly, I probably won’t do it, nor do I know my favorite post of yours. But I appreciate you, your beautiful photography and soulful musings. To creative ventures and the support of loving community. Thanks Annette!

    Liked by 3 people

  4. ywwp says:

    good to know your review… it makes a question to me to review my work on my end.
    regards
    http://yourwellwisherprogram.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Julie says:

    All your photographs are beautiful. My two favorites, Harmonious Aging and This Time of Year, I love for your thoughtful prose that accompanies the pictures. Both very much spoke to me. I’m looking forward to your 2017 posts. Happy New Year! xo

    Liked by 1 person

  6. paintdigi says:

    Good new year 2017.
    Nice posts. Beautiful blog. Congratulations. Welcome see my creations on: paintdigi.com

    Liked by 1 person

  7. An interesting compilation, Annette. I enjoyed them all but the one that resonated the most was “This Time of Year.” A similar retrospection is underway here. I always enjoy your posts and I am looking forward to your observations in the coming year.

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think!