Simple Treasure

If you have been lucky enough to find wild strawberries, you know that their taste is exquisite. The larger garden strawberries (not to mention those large imported strawberries on steroids) simply cannot compete with the tangy-sweet-intense berry flavor of these wild treasure berries. It takes many of them to fill the cup of two hands. Since they are very fragile, they are best eaten where they are found, hand to mouth.

Wild strawberries

Wild strawberries

The second treasure in this picture are my husband’s hands. His hands are strong and able to command most tools or machines you place into them. These hands are patient and can fix almost anything. His hands transmit loving energy to animals and humans; babies are particularly comforted by them. When he lays these hands on you and gets very quiet, you feel their healing energy pass through you.
And to top it all of, his fingernails are often cleaner than my own!

This post was created in response to the WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge “Treasure.”

About Beauty Along the Road

A blog about discovering beauty in all its ordinary and extraordinary manifestations.
This entry was posted in Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Simple Treasure

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Treasures of Academia | An old fart back in school

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Treasure | A mom's blog

  3. Annette , what a lovely contribute to your husband! Wild Strawberries are the most best, I used to find them back in Germany in my fathers garden.

    Like

  4. They really are delicious, I have a wild patch of them I leave on my garden.
    Perfect treasures 🙂

    Like

  5. Perfect treasures both!

    Like

  6. Anne Lene says:

    I love wild strawberry as well, I have them growing in my garden, they came with one off my dad’s plants a few years ago, and I’m taking good care of them. They are not so easy to find in the wild here in Norway anymore. I get such a treat out off “hunting” them down in my yard every summer 🙂

    Like

  7. Tish Farrell says:

    This is a fine tribute, Annette, and so good to remind us what our true treasures are. I once made wild strawberry ice cream. I think it has to be one of the most hauntingly delicious things ever.

    Like

    • You must have been very patient gathering enough of these little jewels for your ice cream. Oh, how delicious…. these are the kinds of things you can only have by making them yourself or being good friends with someone who does.

      Like

  8. My mouth is watering just looking at these strawberries. How I miss them. It’s very difficult to find strawberries in Nicaragua. We used to live near a strawberry farm in the states. When it was strawberry season, I gorged on them. I’m laughing at your comment about your husband’s clean fingernails. That’s the first thing I check when I buy fruit from a street vender. lol

    Like

  9. utesmile says:

    We used to eat them along the path walking through the black forest, also blueberries and rasperries, all much nicer than the bought stuff. More fun picking and eating too. Those look fantastic, hope you enjoyed them!

    Like

  10. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Treasure (Brevet des 7 Cols Ubayens) | What's (in) the picture?

  11. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Treasure | mariestephensgardening

  12. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Treasure | The Wandering Poet

  13. asqfish says:

    What a beautiful post both in color, content and topic. May your husbands hands always bring healing and love to you and all the little and big creatures he cares for.

    Like

  14. mpejovic says:

    Those strawberries look so good! I’ve never seen wild strawberries or blackberries in the US (France only) so it’s good to know they do grow here. Tere are definitely none of those berries growing in Southern California. You’re lucky to find such good patches.

    Like

    • There must be some kind of wild berries, even in Cali? I do feel lucky, I have not only found wild strawberries, but also blackberries, blueberries, gooseberries, and teaberries on my property, along with many other wild edibles. The Appalachian Mountains are home to an incredible diversity of plants.

      Like

      • mpejovic says:

        There may be some edible berries but I think it’s mostly seeds here in Southern California. I did see wild strawberries in Idyllwild, a couple of hours away from here but nowhere else locally. The climate is very dry so we mostly get brush and cactus. Oh, there goes some prickly pear!

        Like

        • I loved the prickly pear out West – something edible and beautiful out of a forbidding plant like a cactus! Also, the color of the juice is such a gorgeous jewel-red.
          I actually have some cactus growing in my rock garden and it has begun to bear fruit! Don’t know how big it will get but I am amazed how it can withstand the cold.

          Like

          • mpejovic says:

            The desert can be very cold (freezing temperatures) but not as cold as the East Coast. It’s amazing your cactus not only survived this harsh winter but is also bearing fruit in the middle of it.

            Like

            • It survived last winter and gave me some fruit in late summer/fall (sorry, I didn’t mean to imply that is is bearing at this moment). During the winter it looks very shrivelled, as if it’s dead, but then rallies. I’ve seen similar cacti thriving and growing really large in the Shenandoah Valley of Virginia, which is a bit warmer than up here in the mountains. When a friend offered me the cacti, it was an experiment and I was skeptical. Let’s see whether it revives this spring…

              Like

  15. Pingback: WPC: Treasure – LOVE | Words 'n Pics…

  16. Dina says:

    ❤️❤️❤️
    Lovely tribute to your husband the gorgeous berries, Annette.
    Ha en fin dag! 😊
    Dina

    Like

  17. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Treasure of Gold | Isadora Art and Photography

Let me know what you think!