A Thief and a Trapeze Artist

You faithfully fill the bird feeders to help your feathered friends through the lean times.  And then you realize that someone else invited himself to the party.

Du füllst immer treu die Futterhäuschen auf damit die gefiederten Freunde es durch die mageren Zeiten schaffen. Und dann merkst du, dass sich da noch jemand selbst zur Party eingeladen hat.

Ooh, check this out, free lunch!

Schau mal, kostenloses Mittagessen!

squirrel raiding bird feeder

squirrel raiding bird feeder

And what’s over here?

Und was ist das denn?

suet feeder

suet feeder

That looks like a delicious dessert someone left just for me. This must be my lucky day.

Jemand hat mir ein köstliches Dessert hinterlassen. Heute is mein Glückstag.

dessert

Good thing I took those trapeze lessons, this is quite a stretch.

Jetzt bin ich froh dass ich diesen Trapezunterricht gemacht habe, da muss man sich schon strecken können.

stretching

Gotta really hold on with my tail and my hind feet here.

Man muss wirklich gut mit dem Schwanz und den Hinterpfoten festhalten.

holding on

Ok, that was good but I feel a bit bloated now. What’s next?

Ok, das war gut, aber ich fühle mich ein wenig aufgebläht. Was gibt’s jetzt noch?

what now?i

Oh, yes, I know just where I am going next.

Aha, ich weiss genau was ich jetzt machen werde.

jumping off

You didn’t think you could fool me with that old kitchen towel hung over your dog door?!

Dachtest du dass du mich täuschen kannst, mit diesem alten Handtuch das du über dem Hundeausgang aufgehängt hast?!

squirrel inside 120

I know just where you keep that nice fresh water for your doggie. I see him behind the glass door but he can’t catch me.

Ich weiß genau, wo du das schöne frische Wasser für deinen Hund hinstellst. Ich sehe ihn hinter der Glastür, aber er kann mich nicht erwischen.

water bowl 120

You are such nice people here. I’ll be back soon.

Ihr seid wirklich freundliche Leute. Ich komme bald wieder zu Besuch.

About Beauty Along the Road

My name is Annette. I am passionate about nature, health, simplicity, self-reliance, truth, and life-long learning. Originally from Germany, I now live in Virginia, USA. I am a therapist, health coach, writer, photographer, and organic gardener.
This entry was posted in Animals and Critters and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to A Thief and a Trapeze Artist

  1. pix & kardz says:

    how cheeky is that! enjoyed this story. thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for the lively entertainment Annette. Seems like you and the squirrel are cheeky! 🙂

    Like

  3. He is not only cheeky, but so beautiful. We don’t have squirrels in New Zealand ..

    Like

  4. mithraballesteros says:

    Thank you for the laugh! Fab photos! Nature photography can be so fun, but don’t you wish camera shutters could close silently?

    Like

    • Thank you, Mithra, for stopping by. This fellow was not intimidated by my presence or the camera shutter🙂 But I’ve photographed deer that were quite a distance away and their ears perked up when they heard the camera clicking.

      Like

  5. leannelc says:

    what a cute little fellow – we don’t have squirrels natively living in Australia so I always find them fascinating (although I’ve been told they can be quite destructive at times)

    Like

  6. saine13 says:

    So cute… so cheeky… lovely photos.

    Like

  7. saine13 says:

    Reblogged this on Saine Corner and commented:
    Reblogging this cute cheeky visitor (from ‘Beauty Along the Road’s blog).

    Like

  8. Nancy Vance says:

    Nice photos, Annette!

    Like

  9. Wow, I thought we had athletic squirrels, but this guy/gal is world class!

    Like

  10. 1010parkplace says:

    Squirrels are such smart creatures! I sometimes think their sole goal in life is to have fun!

    Like

  11. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature says:

    Such a great post, Annette! Great pictures. Quite a stretch that little fellow is able to make! Thanks for such good entertainment this morning!
    Blessings
    Mary

    Like

  12. Hahaha. Such an entertaining story, Annette. He’s a curious and fearless little fellow.🙂

    Like

  13. Tish Farrell says:

    You just can’t keep a good squirrel down. You have captured all this naughtiness superbly, Annette.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. utesmile says:

    That is so sweet! I love squirrels, fantastic captures!

    Like

  15. Hahaha These squirrels are all rascals it seems.🙂 Great captures, Annette.

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think!

