What’s the Point of Writing?

Why do I write?

My first poem began percolating in my head after seeing Werner Herzog’s movie “Kaspar Hauser.” Kaspar’s struggle made me aware of my own longing for deep communication and understanding. At 17, life was expanding, there was so much to take in.

leaves and tree in parking lot

Life was a thicket of emotions and experiences, opportunities and decisions that would determine the course of my life. How to make sense of it all?

fallen

Writing was a relief – thoughts captured on paper, emotions vented, hopes and fantasies caught in the dream-catcher pages of my diary.

 leaves against blue sky

Writing was self-therapy and brought greater clarity.

single leaf on rock

And I continue to write

…for the sheer pleasure of playing with words as nature plays with shape and color

red speckled leaf

As an amateur photographer, I use words to deepen the visual experience of my photos. When I am at a loss for the right words, I close my eyes and feel for the words in my body. Where is the experience, what is its color, temperature, motion?

one fruit among fallen leaves

Then the words usually bubble up. It’s a bit like learning a new dance – lots of missteps, tripping over my own or my partner’s feet, trying to figure it out with my head first until I realize I can just trust my body to hear the beat and move with it.

fruit and leaves on ground

A dancer must create by moving her body through space, a sculptor by coaxing his vision from wood or stone, a painter by touching paint to canvas. For me, words are the medium for exploration, and finding truth and, sometimes, beauty.

branch with leaves against blue sky

About Beauty Along the Road

My name is Annette. I am passionate about nature, health, simplicity, self-reliance, truth, and life-long learning. Originally from Germany, I now live in Virginia, USA. I am a therapist, health coach, writer, photographer, and organic gardener.
This entry was posted in Musings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

49 Responses to What’s the Point of Writing?

  1. Gradmama2011 says:

    love the ginko leaves … nice blog.

    Like

  2. kakingsbury says:

    I love your pictures and the way you intersperse the pictures and writings. A Ginko tree has such beautiful fall color but I don’t think I’ve noticed the fruit before. I grew up in Richmond VA but now live in North Carolina.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. enjoyed dancing along here with your words and images – that last one really does move

    Like

  4. CARLA says:

    so so so GINKOstunning.

    Like

  5. A tale well told is to the point.

    Like

  6. shoreacres says:

    I really enjoyed your visual analogy. The movement from the single leaf to the piling-up of them is a wonderful way to communicate the movement of a writer: from few words, to many.

    Like

  7. I love how you describe your writing process Annette.๐Ÿ™‚ I might try your way. Thanks for sharing your lovely words and photos. May we deepen in our connection to peace, love and beauty….

    Like

  8. T.O. Weller says:

    I’ve been thinking about why I write a lot lately, as well as collecting reasons from other writers. It’s inspiring to read them, and yours was no exception.
    I’m not sure what I’m going to do with my collection yet, but I hope you don’t mind if I add yours? You have expressed your reasons so beautifully!

    Like

  9. lolaWi says:

    lovely words and photos, Annette! very inspiring๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  10. Beautiful fall images, Annette. Yes, as Lola says, your words are inspiring. xx

    Like

  11. indacampo says:

    I so enjoyed this post Annette but also the comments. I guess the post put me in the mood to play a scene from an old movie in my head. The kind where you see the people who are talking above the main character’s head chattering away. You created a wonderful mood with your writing and comments. KA

    Like

  12. You have stated it beautifully.

    Like

  13. Dancing words that are delightful. My sentiments exactly about why I write, but your words are so vividly described in beautiful ginko leaves. And I really enjoyed reading the comments on your post, too.๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  14. these words of yours are so poetic and struck a chord with me: “…When I am at a loss for the right words, I close my eyes and feel for the words in my body. Where is the experience, what is its color, temperature, motion?” Wonderful that you chose to share your writing thoughts…thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. mukhamani says:

    Yes๐Ÿ™‚ and beautiful photos. Regards.

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think!

