Bittersweet

Our wild cherry trees are changing into their fall colors, much too early for my winter-phobic mind. Laden with tiny fruit, they become favored snack stops for wildlife. Our neighbor told me he saw a bear recently high up in his cherry tree, stuffing himself with the juicy morsels.

wild cherry tree

Suddenly, a burst of bird activity:

Cedar waxwings in cherry tree

How many Cedar Waxwings can you count? I love seeing these beautiful birds when they migrate through here every fall. They don’t make it easy to admire them, as they seem to prefer the tops of trees.

The soft colors of leaves and birds carry the emotional tone of these late summer days – harvest heavy, sweet around the edges, cooling off into nights still ringing with insect serenades. But the last call of the whip-poor-will occurred on August 31 and the hummingbird feeder is looking deserted now most of the time.

Goodbye, feathered friends, may you have a safe journey South to your winter abode. I’ll follow when I can….

About Beauty Along the Road

My name is Annette. I am passionate about nature, health, simplicity, self-reliance, truth, and life-long learning. Originally from Germany, I now live in Virginia, USA. I am a therapist, health coach, writer, photographer, and organic gardener.
This entry was posted in Animals and Critters, Appalachia and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Bittersweet

  1. I love how they blend in the tree leaves~ I’m not a fan of winter and fall always make me sad because of the impending winter but I need to appreciate fall, too, I guess. Take care!

    Like

  2. Nomzi Kumalo says:

    Me too. Have a lovely relaxing weekend.πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. Maria F. says:

    What a beautiful post, welcoming the change of seasons!

    Like

  4. lolaWi says:

    beautiful shot, Annette! love the glorious colors of autumn. but, where did summer go? πŸ™‚ have a wonderful weekend! πŸ™‚

    Like

  5. Cedar Waxwings! I haven’t seen them for years. Sometimes I miss the changing of the seasons. But, I can always count on your beautiful posts to help me reflect on the bittersweet time of the changing of the guards in nature.

    Like

  6. The leaves are in the earliest stages of turning here, I can smell fall in the air, and I can feel it on my skin when I sit on the porch swing in the late afternoon sun…Fall is definitely on it’s way.

    Like

  7. bythebriny says:

    Beautiful colours!

    Like

  8. Anarette says:

    Amazing how they blend in with the trees.

    Like

  9. I like your term winter-phobic, which describes how my body has always been and explains why I moved away from New York and ended up in Austin, Texas.

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think!

