Wind Energy

Did you know that the Wind is a great and energetic sculptor?

Wind draws zen-like lines across the landscape, using snow and landscape features as sculpting media:

Snow drift

Snow drift

Wind decorates a stonewall with a white flowing skirt of textured snow:

Snow against stone wall

Snow against stone wall

Wind carves a perfect semi-circle around a corner post, using dried grass for a mixed media effect:

Semi-circular snow formation

Semi-circular snow formation

Wind decorates entire landscapes with endless rolls of (entirely recyclable) quilted tissue paper:

Two snow textures

Two snow textures

Wind works tirelessly, equipped with rakes and chisels, and seemingly endless energy:

Snow pattern around tree

Snow pattern around tree

For more interpretations of “Energy”, take a look at Ailsa’s Where is My Backpack?

About Beauty Along the Road

My name is Annette. I am passionate about nature, health, simplicity, self-reliance, truth, and life-long learning. Originally from Germany, I now live in Virginia, USA. I am a therapist, health coach, writer, photographer, and organic gardener.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Appalachia, Travel Theme Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Wind Energy

  1. I love patterns, texture, and detail; it always draws me right into the image.

    Like

  2. Nomzi Kumalo says:

    Have a lovely day.πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. Aggie says:

    We only got patchy ice cover here. Enjoying your views!

    Like

  4. This is brilliant! I really love how you portrayed energy here.πŸ™‚

    Like

  5. dogear6 says:

    Those are beautiful!

    Nancy

    Like

  6. Cecilia says:

    Wind energy from another view point, I love it. Beautiful pictures. Thanks!

    Like

  7. Thank you for sharing those images, it reminded me a lot of the snow landscapes in Garmisch in Germany I had seen a few years ago. Great textures and formations

    Like

  8. What a marvelous interpretation! I am enjoying your snow from afar, but so glad not to be in the midst of it.

    Like

  9. Tish Farrell says:

    Wind sculpture – magical, Annette.

    Like

  10. These photos are stunning and reaffirm my love for the beauty of winter.

    Like

  11. Tina Schell says:

    Fabulous shots Annette and I love the way you tied them to the “energy” challenge. Great job!!!

    Like

Let me know what you think!

