Winter Morning

sunny winter morning

As the sun lights up a crisp winter morning landscape, the locust tree near the house hosts a colorful visitor.

woodpecker backing down the tree

woodpecker backing down the tree

She starts out from up high and gradually backs down the tree trunk to her final destination.

Red-bellied woodpecker

Red-bellied woodpecker

She is a red-bellied woodpecker (strange name, since there isn’t much of a red belly). Her male counterpart sports an entire head of bright read feathers; she has a grey crown but still a good bit of color. That black and white pattern on her back helps her to easily blend with the bark background. Now she has reached the suet feeder.

female red-bellied woodpecker

female red-bellied woodpecker

She always seems a bit nervous and doesn’t stay long. Even a light noise from inside the house will scare her off.

I am delighted to see her and let her brighten my morning a bit.

About Beauty Along the Road

My name is Annette. I am passionate about nature, health, simplicity, self-reliance, truth, and life-long learning. Originally from Germany, I now live in Virginia, USA. I am a therapist, health coach, writer, photographer, and organic gardener.
This entry was posted in Animals and Critters, Appalachia and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Winter Morning

  1. Love how you framed that first photo. You remind me to get my feeders going including the suet.

    Like

  2. glendanp says:

    I love this post! Woodpeckers are in my top 5 favorite birds and these photos are outstanding. Thanks!

    Like

  3. Cool post. The opening image is fantastic, and I especially like how I missed the small figure of the bird on the tree until I started going through the series and was forced to go back and look again. Now there is an object lesson; gentle but effective.

    Like

  4. She certainly is a bright spot on a winter morning. She brightened my day too. It’s pretty dreary these days in the south of China.πŸ™‚

    Like

  5. Tina Schell says:

    Love your opening capture Annette!

    Like

  6. Zambian Lady says:

    What beautiful photos, especially the last one. I also like the red color on the bird.

    Like

  7. Nomzi Kumalo says:

    Have a lovely week Annette. May this festive season be one full of love and peace for you and your loved ones.πŸ™‚

    Like

Let me know what you think!

