Migration

A few days ago, I noticed a large flock of birds, high up in the tree tops. Their chatter was very different from what I had been hearing all summer – a delightful, high-spirited zee. They flitted back and forth between the branches unable to sit still for very long. A small group flew to the next tree, followed by another little group. They were in constant motion. Before long, they were all gone.

birds in the tree tops

I did not know who these winged visitors were until I uploaded the photos and zoomed in on them. The pictures may be a bit blurry but I was delighted to recognize them as Cedar Waxwings. You can see the yellow band at the tip of the tail and the red (“waxy”) tips on their wing feathers. The juveniles are softly streaked.

Apparently, they were resting a bit during their long flight from Canada to Central America and maybe catching a few insects or leftover wild cherries for a quick snack.

May their journey be swift and may they all reach their winter destination together. Thank you for the delightful afternoon entertainment.

About Beauty Along the Road

My name is Annette. I am passionate about nature, health, simplicity, self-reliance, truth, and life-long learning. Originally from Germany, I now live in Virginia, USA. I am a therapist, health coach, writer, photographer, and organic gardener.
This entry was posted in Animals and Critters and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Migration

  1. jpeggytaylor says:

    It is so enjoyable watching the natural world getting on with its own busyness. Bird-watching is fascinating. Waxwings are quite striking birds … we see the European variety passing through during the Winter sometimes. Just as you describe, they settle in numbers on a berry bush and feed together before setting off on their journey again.

    Like

  2. ladysighs says:

    I always enjoy watching nature shows featuring bird migrations. How wonderful it must have been to see their journey up close. 🙂

    Like

    • Hi Lady – yes, there was a palpable excitement in the air and I was thrilled to see waxwings for the first time. They only come through here during their spring and fall migrations. There are lots of unusual bird sounds in the air but I am not very good at identifying birds by their song, so I have to actually see them…

      Like

  3. Carol says:

    I has Cedar Waxwings one summer but, sadly, they have not returned.

    Like

  4. I adore these birds. They swing by each year and devour the berries on my mahonia bushes. I love watching them.

    Like

Let me know what you think!

