Hummingbird Ballet in Silhouette

There are few things more joyful than watching hummingbirds flying and hovering, humming the air alive with their rapid wing movements and chirping their high-pitched sounds. They surpass all other birds in their ability to maneuver with precision, to fly backwards, and even upside down.

There are 11 pictures in this slideshow starting with an empty feeder. Showing them in silhouette highlights how their body movements change, and how tail feathers are used for slowing down and hovering.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This post was created in response to the Weekly Photo Challenge: Silhouette.

About Beauty Along the Road

My name is Annette. I am passionate about nature, health, simplicity, self-reliance, truth, and life-long learning. Originally from Germany, I now live in Virginia, USA. I am a therapist, health coach, writer, photographer, and organic gardener.
This entry was posted in Animals and Critters, Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Hummingbird Ballet in Silhouette

  1. Photo 9 where it looks like it’s coming straight up the middle looks really cool!

    Like

  2. dogear6 says:

    I think that is absolutely cool! You’re right about how using the silhouette really shows off their acrobatics.

    Nancy

    Like

  3. I have never seen one…but they look and sound enchanting

    Like

  4. These are terrific images!!!

    Like

  5. Very nice series. Wonderful images.

    Like

  6. lydiawarren says:

    Oh wow!! Love these. Absolutely stunning.

    Like

  7. I am fascinated by hummingbirds, too. These little hummers are fast, right? It has been so hard for me to get photos of them at our feeders. Yours are excellent. We recently had a swarm of African honeybees take over the feeders near our porch. For my safety, because I am allergic to bee stings, we had to take down the feeders for a while. I wonder if our hummingbirds in the tropics migrate? They seem to stay in the area year-round. Nice silhouettes, Annette.

    Like

    • Debbie, I just attended a talk on hummingbirds. They are truly fascinating little birds – I will post another blog post with more info and more pics (not silhouette this time🙂 ). Actually, stinging insects like wasps and hornets and maybe even bees can pose a real danger to the hummingbirds. Their bodies are so tiny that the poison injected could kill them. So you were wise to remove the feeder, for yourself and the birdies.
      Central and S. America have a large variety of hummingbirds; some of them can live at the snowline in the mountains. some of them can survive winters even up here. But you may soon seen ours migrating to your part of the globe – look out for the ruby-throated hummingbird – the only kind we have in Virginia, except for a few odd migrants from out West who come here instead of flying South for the winter. For my photos, I used my sports setting and just started clicking away. Out of hundreds, you end up with a few decent ones…

      Like

  8. Magnificent! Hummingbirds are such a joy to watch. I feel blessed every time one visits my gardens.

    Like

  9. I’ve always found that hummingbirds are so difficult to photograph. They’re just so very fast. Love your slideshow, Annette.🙂

    Like

  10. Almost can hear them, because Hummingbirds make a certain sound. From my office window I can hear and see them. They are most beautiful creatures, very admirable the work they do, they almost never stand still, always moving. Thank you for sharing Annette

    Like

  11. Loca Gringa says:

    We have so many hummingbirds here and until I saw your post I hadn’t thought of having a feeder. Now, guess what I’m shooting for😉

    Like

  12. seeker says:

    Hummers, they are so graceful.

    Like

  13. Pingback: Summer Pleasures – Watching Hummingbirds | The Beauty Along the Road

Let me know what you think!

