Silky Shine

Walking across the meadows among the tall grasses reaching to my hips, I saw these over-sized “puffballs” swaying gently in the breeze.

perfect  puffball

perfect puffball

They were significantly larger than the seedheads of dandelions that look similar. This seedhead belongs to an oyster plant (Tragopogon porrifolius).

The radial patterns of the silken, shiny threads remind me of the lace knitting masterpiece of a grandmother whose living room is decorated with intricate doilies (please click to enlarge for full effect):

oyster plant close-up

oyster plant close-up

Like a shining sun, the plant sends out rays each producing its very own little sunburst pattern (click to enlarge):

radial half

radial half

When the flower blooms earlier in the spring, it looks like this:

oyster plant

oyster plant

This post was created in response to Ailsa’s Travel Theme: Shine.

About Beauty Along the Road

My name is Annette. I am passionate about nature, health, simplicity, self-reliance, truth, and life-long learning. Originally from Germany, I now live in Virginia, USA. I am a therapist, health coach, writer, photographer, and organic gardener.
This entry was posted in Flora, Travel Theme Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Silky Shine

  1. Stunning photos – I love the second one. It really does look silky shiny.

    Like

  2. Loca Gringa says:

    I love dandelions! Still don’t know if they exist here.

    Like

    • Diana – I suspect that if you haven’t seen any dandelions yet that they don’t exist in a tropical climate. As a matter of fact, I can’t remember ever seeing dandelions in the tropics. Since they come up so early in the spring here, they seem well adapted to a cold climate.

      Like

  3. Phoenix Tears Healed says:

    Great pictures🙂

    Like

  4. utesmile says:

    Fantastic photos.

    Like

  5. Carol says:

    Love these pictures! These guys pop up everywhere in my yard but I never knew what they were – thank you for identifying them for me.

    Like

  6. I especially love the second image.🙂

    Like

  7. suzjones says:

    Just beautiful LB.

    Like

  8. Stunning photos, the detail you capture makes your photos really special.

    Like

  9. Wow, very nice work. Great images accompanied by interesting information. Thanks for putting this together.

    Like

Let me know what you think!

