More Blossom Magic

On the evening before I depart on a magical journey, I leave you with a few pictures from rhododendron heaven. Rhododendron heaven is located in the same general area of the universe where the other flower heavens reside, along with the fairy world, and the abode of the tree spirits.

magenta rhododendron bud

magenta rhododendron bud

I don’t know whether the buds are more beautiful or the fully opened blossoms. The buds hold promise and mystery…oh, the anticipation of imagining what they will look like and be like. It’s like being six months pregnant and wondering about the features of the tiny baby-in-the-making, what the child might be like, or the teenager even. Or preparing for a long-awaited trip and day-dreaming about what you’ll see and whom you’ll meet.

rhododendron with partial full bloom

rhododendron with partial full bloom

And then the buds finally open into their full majesty – flower cups open to the world, fragrant, attractive, sensual: here I am and ain’t I beautiful!

Ah, the dance of fullness, ripeness, being at peak.

Do we even know when we are at our peak?

Perhaps not until we are past peak, and a few wrinkles set in, a few brown spots appear…

Still, we dance in the breeze remembering the scents and sights and sounds from our prime and mixing them with our new-found experience and wisdom.

Now begins the business of setting seed and creating our legacy.

pink rhodo with bloodred streaks

pink rhodo with bloodred streaks

Slightly past its prime, and still full of magic.

This post was created in response to Ailsa’s Travel Theme: Blossom.

Because I will be in a location with no computer access, I will not be able to respond to your comments until I return. As always, thank you for reading and commenting.

About Beauty Along the Road

My name is Annette. I am passionate about nature, health, simplicity, self-reliance, truth, and life-long learning. Originally from Germany, I now live in Virginia, USA. I am a therapist, health coach, writer, photographer, and organic gardener.
This entry was posted in Flora, Travel Theme Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to More Blossom Magic

  1. Cee Neuner says:

    Definitely magical. I really adore the first shot.

    Like

  2. asqfish says:

    Rhododendrons are a part of my romantic mystique, I always felt they were unique, you have made them even more so through the lens. Thank you!

    Like

  3. absolutely beautiful!! many of my Rhododendrons has finished blooming except for the white ones which are just beginning to bud!

    check out, http://michaelswoodcraft.wordpress.com/2014/05/12/purple-rhododendron-flowers/

    Like

  4. Carol says:

    Beautiful! Love Rhododendrons and wish they’d do well here but no such luck. As to being at our peak, I am in the time of brown spots and wrinkles but in many ways feel I am in my prime.

    Like

  5. I love that first shot🙂

    Like

  6. Gorgeous blossoms, Annette. The colour is really stunning.🙂

    Like

  7. Amy says:

    How beautiful! These are gorgeous, Rhododendrons!

    Like

  8. jpeggytaylor says:

    Lovely images. I especially like second one of the magenta rhody with the buds and open flowers against that acid green background – those opposite colourways really make your image shout🙂

    Like

  9. Imelda says:

    So pretty! Lovely shots.

    Like

Let me know what you think!

