Blossom Art

During a recent visit to an arboretum, I was disappointed to see that all the azaleas were spent already, creating a lush carpet of blossoms beneath each shrub. I quickly forgot about azaleas when I saw that the rhododendrons were marching up the catwalk of flower fashions:

rhododendron buds

rhododendron buds

I can’t help but think of a gaggle of red beaked bird princesses gathering in a little gossip circle (red carpet walkway included). My husband thinks it looks more like an alien spaceship…

This post combines Ailsa’s Travel Theme: Blossom and the Daily Post Weekly Photo Challenge: Work of Art

About Beauty Along the Road

My name is Annette. I am passionate about nature, health, simplicity, self-reliance, truth, and life-long learning. Originally from Germany, I now live in Virginia, USA. I am a therapist, health coach, writer, photographer, and organic gardener.
This entry was posted in Flora, Travel Theme Challenge, Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Blossom Art

  1. Interesting! I just bought a geranium that looks so much like your azalea that I thought that’s what it was at first. (or is the featured photo in the reader the azalea?)

    Like

  2. kathyradigan says:

    I love azaleas too but their season is so, so short!!! What beautiful photos, thanks for some lovely eye candy!

    Like

  3. mpejovic says:

    Lovely choice for this two themes. Some flowers do look alienish from up close for sure.

    Like

  4. Heyjude says:

    Are you sure this is a rhodo? Looks like the end of a peony to me. Whatever, it’s a good image🙂

    Like

  5. I’m obsessed with taking photos of blossoms. I can’t stop. Loved this.
    Carol
    http://carolcassara.com/strolling-blogosphere-crazy-big-thighed-techie-women/

    Like

  6. sueslaght says:

    A creative take on the theme! I will take the red beaked princesses over the aliens.🙂

    Like

Let me know what you think!

