Sunday Stills: Black Forest Cake (Schwarzwaelder Kirschtorte)

The best cake in the world is German Black Forest Cake (Schwarzwaelder Kirschtorte) (for the sake of full disclosure I must tell you that I grew up in the Black Forest). Forget the disappointing imitations of this cake that you find in the US. I am talking about the real thing: made from scratch, with real cherries, Kirschwasser (cherry spirits), real whipped cream, and shaved chocolate on top.

Here is the assembly part: three cake layers, cherries soaked in Kirschwasser (this cake is spirited and spiritual), two whipped cream layers…

Assembling the cake

Assembling the cake

And this is the final product (thank you, Ruth, if you are reading this):

Schwarzwaelder Kirschtorte

Schwarzwaelder Kirschtorte

Of course, there is no time to waste because fresh whipped cream stays fresh for only so long. So this dream of a cake disappears fast:

Going fast

Going fast

Check out Ed’s Sunday Stills, The Next Challenge: International Foods.

About Beauty Along the Road

My name is Annette. I am passionate about nature, health, simplicity, self-reliance, truth, and life-long learning. Originally from Germany, I now live in Virginia, USA. I am a therapist, health coach, writer, photographer, and organic gardener.
This entry was posted in Sunday Stills and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Sunday Stills: Black Forest Cake (Schwarzwaelder Kirschtorte)

  1. Barneysday says:

    It looks almost sinful!

    Like

  2. I LOVE LOVE LLLOOOOOOOVVVVVEEEEEEEE this cake!!!!!

    Like

  3. Pingback: Sunday Stills: Black Forest Cake (Schwarzwaelder Kirschtorte) | Yarn Around My World

  4. cindy knoke says:

    Yum!!! I want some!

    Like

  5. …MMM looks delicious, I love this cake too!๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  6. Pingback: Sunday Stills, the next challenge: International Food | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  7. y. prior says:

    yummmmm. and like the plates too. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  8. Annette, now this is the real thing, wow!! Are there any leftovers?? I used to make Schwarzwaelder Kirschtorte, you just inspired me to make it for a friends birthday. Baking from scratch is the only way to make it a real cake. Habe hier noch kein Kirschwasser entdecken koennen, but I can substitude๐Ÿ˜ฆ Did you make it for a special occasion, because it takes quite some time. Auf Wiedersehen!

    Like

    • Cornelia, if you have the recipe with American measurements, would you mind sending it to me? The German recipe gives ingredients in grams (!).
      I didn’t make the cake but my sister-in-law who is a superb baker (and cook) made it for us as a gift when she was here for a visit a few years ago. She brought her own scale and even the Kirschwasser! What kind of spirits would you substitute for the Kirsch?

      Like

      • Annette, leider habe ich nur ein deutsches Rezept, the iffy part of measurements is just the dough, which is 4 eggs, 175gr sugar comes to a cup, 80gr flour which comes to 1/2 cup maybe, 80gr Speisestaerke, which come to 1/2 cup maybe of wheat starch and 1 teeloeffel Backpulver. Separate the eggs and schlage die 4 Eiweiss steif with a bit of cold water, drizzle the sugar in while stirring it, zieh die Eigelb unter very slowly,= and add a 1/2 cup of cacao pulver to it, hebe the flour and starch and Backpulver drunter sehr vorsichtig in das geschlagene Eiweiss and fill it into a round baking form. Heat of the oven probably around 250, which is 180 german terms and bake it for about 35 mins. Stick a fork into it slowly if the dough sticks on the fork let it bake a bit more. Let it cool off and cut the dough two times. A glass of sour cherries heat it up and add some gelatin to it so it gets a bit stiff, add the Kirsch or Rum substitude, whip Schlagsahne, maybe 3 cups with vanilla sugar. Add cherries to the cream and put layers of this on each layer of the dough. Add the end decorate the pile of layers with whipped cream again, all around the cake decorate it with some left overs of cherries, sprinkle some raffled chocolate flakes over it AND Voila there it is. I hope it all makes sense to you, because I kind of tried to translate it from my German recipe. Questions???? Happy to help out.

        Like

  9. Dina says:

    Lovely!๐Ÿ™‚ What a great spirited and spiritual cake!๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  10. I remember hiking in Germany and stopping at a little cafe at the top of the mountain. I ordered a slice of this cake and a cup of coffee and discovered the giant chasm between the American version of this cake and the real thing. Schmeckt mir gut!!!

    Like

  11. suzjones says:

    I love Black Forest Cake. I’ve always had it with chocolate cream though. Still yummy!!

    Like

  12. I watched one being made at the tourist centre in the Black Forest. I was amazed at how much whipped cream was used. Afterwards, I bought a piece, and it was heavenly.๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  13. tree girl says:

    My favourte cake ever, which I can no longer eat due to my gluten and lactose intolerance. i enjoy the memory of it though.

    Like

Let me know what you think!

