A Spring Promise

I couldn’t believe my eyes today when I saw a carpet of yellow in the underbrush, in the back of a parking lot. These are the very first flowers I have seen in our area this year. I didn’t know whether they were native wildflowers or whether they had escaped a garden nearby and naturalized into this brushy area of shrubs and trees.

I loved the way these little yellow flowers spread like a sunny carpet even climbing up the rocky hill in the back.

A close-up shows the six petals and interesting looking leaves.

six-petaled beauties

I couldn’t find this early spring flower in my native wildflower books but discovered pictures on the internet that appear to match: Winter aconite (Eranthis hyemalis). This is a spring ephemeral that can tolerate snow (another snow storm is predicted here for tomorrow). But whatever its scientific name may be, to me, this sweet little flower means the Promise of Spring!

About Beauty Along the Road

My name is Annette. I am passionate about nature, health, simplicity, self-reliance, truth, and life-long learning. Originally from Germany, I now live in Virginia, USA. I am a therapist, health coach, writer, photographer, and organic gardener.
This entry was posted in Flora and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to A Spring Promise

  1. Aggie says:

    I have seen my first flowers, but not a carpet like this. How cheering!

    Like

  2. I love this! I am certainly ready for spring, but I haven’t seen much sign of it around here. This is hopeful for sure.🙂

    Like

  3. mpejovic says:

    Wow, what happened to all the snow? All melted already? And these flowers were growing underneath? Mother Nature sure knows how to surprise us.

    Like

  4. Pingback: After The Snowstorm | The Beauty Along the Road

  5. love all the pictures, they are so refreshing and true in colors!!!

    Like

Let me know what you think!

