Winter Stream: Juxtaposition (V)

Driving home a few days ago, I caught these hues of blue in the semi-frozen little stream running alongside the road. Even though the blues on the icy water surface were only subtly contrasting with the snowy banks, the smooth texture really set it apart from the coarser texture of the snow on the banks, with dried grass tufts sticking out everywhere. Also, the stream was a reflecting surface for the setting sun.

Winter stream

Winter stream

At first, I felt a bit frustrated that I could not walk closer to the stream because of the steep bank down from the road and a barbed wire fence. And there were all these little trees and branches obstructing my view! Then I remembered the juxtaposition theme and incorporated the trees that were in my way:

This one is actually my favorite because the small tree trunks create their own unique pattern. Their stark black silhouettes bring out the subtle blue shades of the stream even more:

The theme for the Weekly Photo Challenge is “Juxtaposition.” Michelle invites us to share images that show “the act of placing things side by side, especially for the purpose of comparison or contrast.”

About Beauty Along the Road

My name is Annette. I am passionate about nature, health, simplicity, self-reliance, truth, and life-long learning. Originally from Germany, I now live in Virginia, USA. I am a therapist, health coach, writer, photographer, and organic gardener.
This entry was posted in Appalachia, Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Winter Stream: Juxtaposition (V)

  1. Beautiful icey blue shots

    Like

  2. Your pics are so perfect for the challenge. I’m relieved you didn’t try to clamber over the barbed wire fence.🙂

    Like

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: JUXTAPOSITION | The Adventures of Iñigo Boy

  4. Sheila says:

    So beautiful – I love how the blue comes through and the way the stream is reflecting the sky.

    Like

Let me know what you think!

