Weekly Travel Theme: Ripples

Ailsa at Where’s My Backpack declared a “Ripples” theme for the week. I knew that I wanted more than just ripples in the water, although those can be really nice:

Looking up the definition of “Ripple” in the dictionary, I found the following:

“to form little waves or undulating movements on the surface, as water or grass stirred by a breeze… set in small folds as hair or cloth… alternately rising and falling like laughter…”

So here are two undulating, rippling landscape pictures:

Grasses rippled by wind

Grasses rippled by wind

Blue Grass Valley

Blue Grass Valley

Then I found ripples on my windshield during the carwash:

car wash

car wash

And some flags rippling in the air:

Even trees seem to be sporting ripples on their bark:

Tree bark

Tree bark

And under the trees, there is a mushroom with its own ripples:

Mushroom gills

Mushroom gills

And this sunflower is not to be left out:

Sunflower

Sunflower

Even clouds incorporate the theme:

Cloud ripples

Cloud ripples

Even abandoned road barricades will do it:

Cement barricades

Cement barricades

A rodeo bull shows them:

rodeo bull with ripples

Here is my favorite rebel farmer, Joel Salatin, of Swoope, Virginia, who is creating significant ripple effects with his new ways of integrated livestock farming:

Joel Salatin

An impressive iron gate:

ripples on iron gate

And I leave you with my favorite, a golden water ripple picture:

golden ripples

About Beauty Along the Road

My name is Annette. I am passionate about nature, health, simplicity, self-reliance, truth, and life-long learning. Originally from Germany, I now live in Virginia, USA. I am a therapist, health coach, writer, photographer, and organic gardener.
This entry was posted in Travel Theme Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Weekly Travel Theme: Ripples

  1. Great post and some great shots in here. Saw your headline comments on scanning over your avatar and thought”could be interesting”. Glad I checked it out, will have to see more of your work and follow too. Have a good day, MM 🐝

    Like

  2. What an incredible collection of ripples….and you included all the elementsπŸ™‚

    Like

  3. mpejovic says:

    Great selection of ripples!

    Like

  4. These are beautiful photos, Annette. I love them all, but especially the bark, the undulating landscapes, the rippling clouds, and the flamingo ripples. And that mushroom, that is amazing, and my favorite of them all.πŸ™‚

    Like

  5. dogear6 says:

    Oh wow – what an extensive interpretation of ripples! I loved the reference to Joel Salatin also. I didn’t realize he lived in Virginia.

    Nancy

    Like

  6. Beautiful shots and great interpretations of ripples

    Like

  7. Sartenada says:

    Wow. A “cloud ripples” is my favorite photo.

    Like

Let me know what you think!

