Weekly Photo Challenge: Culture

Culture is such a large, multi-dimensional term.  Apart from the obvious anthropological meaning where we think of large cultural entities (e.g. Balinese, Mexican, Ghanaian, Canadian), I am also reminded of the subtle, or not so subtle, cultural variations within a given culture – that could be rural vs. urban, working class vs. white collar vs. super-rich, consumer vs. artisan, frugal vs. spendthrift, environmentalist vs. energy glutton, born-here’s vs. come here’s, and so on.

These are a few images I found while looking through my multi-cultural archives; I’ve loosely organized them into the following (and by no means complete) slideshow categories:

Architectural Examples

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Functional Art

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

In all religions, people enjoy creating beautiful images to express their connection to the Divine:

Devotional Art

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

We also create art just for the pleasure of playing with colors, textures, and shapes (in the case of superman, maybe I should have included that picture under devotional art instead?):

Art for Art’s Sake

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Of course, Food can always be elevated to a cultural art form:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

We are very lucky to have such a diversity of people, lifestyles, and customs on this planet!  I can envision an almost endless number of posts on cultural diversity in clothing, tools, interpersonal relationships, non-verbal language, family events, cultural and religious celebrations, modes of transportation, housing, food and drink, dance, and so on.  But this post alone took me all of a rainy Sunday to put together.  So I will end it here.

About Beauty Along the Road

My name is Annette. I am passionate about nature, health, simplicity, self-reliance, truth, and life-long learning. Originally from Germany, I now live in Virginia, USA. I am a therapist, health coach, writer, photographer, and organic gardener.
This entry was posted in Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Culture

  1. I really enjoyed your photos. Thank you for organizing them into a slideshow and sharing them.

    Like

  2. ohiasia says:

    I can see why this took you all day! I’ve never seen a split rail fence before. I just learned they’re good for hard/rocky ground where post holes aren’t easily dug. (Thanks, Wikipedia!) Nice post.

    Like

  3. Hi Asia – Actually, split rail fences here in VA are the traditional form of fencing, using available lumber (locust) which is very long-lasting and rot resistant. I love the zig-zag pattern they create across the fields….

    Like

  4. This is wonderful, Annette. I love the way you’ve organized cultures within cultures within cultures. So many interesting juxtapositions. And beautiful photographs.🙂

    Like

  5. Celia says:

    brainy AND beautiful

    Like

  6. These are beautiful!

    Like

  7. enkoos says:

    O my God, this is so beautiful.
    I love the way how you organize the album. Love it, love it, love it!!

    And yes, I do agree with you that culture is in multi dimension term.

    Like

  8. katalina4 says:

    A very complete coverage of the topic: Culture. Nice!

    Like

  9. Thank you, Annette, for stopping by my blog and bringing me here. We could certainly continue the ‘culture’ discussion for days! I love how you have arranged the different components of a culture, and there are many! Have you ever heard of Hofstede’s cultural dimensions? Very interesting, when you get a chance.

    Like

    • I haven’t heard of Hofstede but did a lot of research on cross-cultural adjustment (actually my Master’s Thesis was focused on it). I especially love Peter Adler’s cultural adjustment model which talks about adjusting to another culture as a (possible opportunity for) identity change, or, as I would call it, identity expansion. Also having been married interracially and interculturally and having lived in many different places on this planet, I am keenly aware of cultures including, sometimes, how my own (German) culture wants to get in the way🙂

      Like

  10. Becky says:

    What a beautiful post! The photos of the food are amazing, especially the one of the pizza, and the black forest cake! YUM!🙂

    Like

    • Thank you, Becky. The pizza, I made myself. But the Black Forest Cake was made by my expert sister-in-law who brought non-negotiable German ingredients all the way to Virginia to make this cake for me! Any American version pales in comparison – think real cherries, cherry schnapps, real whipped cream. I am salivating just thinking about it!

      Like

      • Becky says:

        Ok, well that pizza is AMAZING! I think you might need to share your recipe with me! And…your sis-in-law, well she just rocks! I can honestly say I’ve never had an “authentic” black forest cake, so I’ve never been too impressed with them, but reading your description of that cake makes me want to go out and find one…just like what you described! It sounds delicious!

        Like

  11. Touch2Touch says:

    This was a brilliant and inspiring post! It gave me all kinds of new ideas about culture, how it is expressed in so many various ways, and the intention to look at my own photos from a very different angle (asking different questions about them) and to be more open to the world around me for new ideas.
    That’s a lot of stuff. I thank you for your hard day’s labor!

    Like

  12. I just love the functional art. The way you divided the different cultures into categories is astounding and creative. This is extremely well done. Love it ….
    Isadora

    Like

  13. 1annecasey says:

    Wow – very thoughtful and thought-provoking post. Great selection of photos and cultural elements.

    Like

  14. I honestly hadn’t really thought of fabric as culture for this challenge, but that is a great way to look at it.

    Like

  15. Marilyn says:

    I love what you did with this post….your creative categories and amazing pictures. I feel like you were able to bring so many elements of culture that one photo could never do. Thank you for a visual delight this morning.

    Like

  16. Beautiful! This was very entertaining, thank you!🙂

    Like

  17. Love your slide shows…I haven’t tried that yet…and the photos are all beautiful. My favorite slide show was the Devotional art, just so fascinating and evocative.

    Like

  18. Caro Woods says:

    Thanks for dropping into my blog. I am very impressed by the way you have organised this post. All that exotic colour. My, what a beautiful world we live in. Thanks.

    Like

  19. brucethomasw says:

    A brilliant post, to illustrate diversity. Well done.
    Thank you recently stopping by and your like of through the luminary lens. I look forward to more of your beauty along the road. Namaste.

    Like

  20. Pingback: Oh, The Places You’ll Go: My first blogging year in review | The Beauty Along the Road

Let me know what you think!

